current
older
profile

2001-08-10 | 6:42 p.m.
dolla's dolla's

so i guess our heat wave is supposed to be over. it's still a bit warm and we still need rain. i fell asleep listening to the rain hit my aluminum awning last night. i love the way that sounds. it has the same effect on me that a rocking chair does. if i sit in a rocking chair too long, throw in the towel because i'm out. must be some weird maternal thing. maybe that's why i dig black sabbath. my mom saw them in '72 when she was pregnant with me.

i had the absolute pleasure of spending this last long weekend up at michelle's parent's place on the northwest side of the lower peninsula of michigan. it's not quite as high up as traverse city, but not as low as muskegon. it was a little city called ludington. we had a great time there. i could't even tell you how much wildlife we saw. i've never seen so many deer in all my life. i also got to see real live wild turkeys. it was great! there were two hens(?) and a bunch of chicks walking by the road. we built a fire the last night and i got really drunk on rum and cokes. it was excellent weather too. it never rained. it got to be about 88 degrees on saturday, so we went for a swim in lake michigan. the water was so clear you could see down to the bottom and the beach was barely crowded. it was a perfect weekend.

i have been the little consumer boy lately. wednesday i finally had it with my old kenmore 1974 dryer and went out and bought a new 2001 kenmore dryer. i hooked it up and i only have to dry my clothes once instead of three times. i love it. oh, it also has this wrinkle care thing on it too. no more wrinkles! in the midst of this depressing heat and no air, i decided to get a dehumidifier for my basement. i went to best buy and hooked up with a $250 dehumidifier for only $139, simply because it was a floor model. what a difference it has made in my basement. i think that's all my spending, but it was a lot of dough. i'm still waiting for the company i bought my new video card(that didn't work) to send me my new video card.

i decided on a ford focus instead of a ford escape for one reason. the money. i can afford a ford escape, but i would rather have the extra dough to start fixing up my house some. dane and josh are moving out in october and i can't wait to start the remodeling. it's going to be so nice to be here by myself for once. i'll miss josh living with me, but i think it's time for him to move on. good luck to him this sunday at the warped tour. i hope they rock the house. i'm glad downriver is well represented.

speaking of downriver bands, props to bedford drive on finally getting to the studio. the rough mixes sound great! i can't wait to hear what tim pak does for the final mix. well, i think i have to poop.

last entry | next entry

e-mail
guestbook
notes

lex
host