current
older
profile

2002-02-18 | 12:49 a.m.
let's take a long drive...

endless sunday night drives listening to big sonic heaven. my mind wonders as i drive, looking for something, but nothing in particular. i somehow find myself on I-75. i'm lost in thought and don't remember exactly how i got to this point. the only thing that snaps me out of this haze are brief moments of recognition along the drive. i'm listening to a man sing to me the way he feels and it matches my own feelings. it makes me feel good, in a sense, that other people have felt what i have felt and in this regard, it makes me feel more human.

"pontiac next three exits!" how the hell did i end up here? this, of course, snaps me completely out of my thought (that and the fact i have to go to the bathroom). i pull into a gas station to put some fuel into my little truck and try to use the bathroom, get a beverage and head back home trying to figure out what i was thinking about that i didn't notice i had completely passed detroit. i realized that it wasn't just one thing, but a lot of things. mostly just fractions of thoughts, listening to the music and basically enjoying my own company.

i decided that once i got to I-94, that i would take that the rest of the way instead of 75. sometimes the ride home goes by quicker if you take a different route. i thought about getting off on schafer as a short cut, but i remembered the last time i tried that there was water under the overpass that was deeper than the roof of my truck. needless to say, it took two hours to get home from dearborn. it's funny too because as i thought this, the song "happy when it rains" came on by the jesus and mary chain. coincedence? i think not.

so 2 hours after i dropped my brother off, i'm finally home. strange, but great evening of driving.

thank you all the buttholes that didn't show up for hockey today. i wanted to show off my new team usa jersey.

last entry | next entry

e-mail
guestbook
notes

lex
host